Daily Archives: March 31, 2015

Choices?

By Sally

Have you ever thought, “What good am I doing? My life is empty. My family is gone. I need something.”? I have, and I am sure we all have at one time or another, especially at low points in our lives. (As for me, I’ve had plenty, and often asked those questions.)

Some people say teenagers don’t know what they want. They haven’t experienced life. They are just wandering around. Well, let me tell you, there’s a lot of non-teenagers – the older group – doing the same thing. Just because you’re 30 or 40 or 50 doesn’t mean you’re settled, not by a long shot. That’s when you really start to experience life, which sometimes is not fair or pretty.

I guess what I’m getting at is that we all need friends, family, or just plain help! Things happen and we have no idea what to do. But by talking it over with someone (someone we trust) we do find there are some choices. There are always choices. Sometimes we pick the right choice and sometimes not.

As I look at it, we are not alone in our problems. There are others going through similar happenings. And what we need to do is search out our choices. But the first one should be to pray. It’s easy. Just talk to God like you’re talking to a friend. Believe me, He does hear and understand.

We need to hold fast onto something secure, unmovable. The only way to do that is to hold on to your faith. I’m not pushing religion down your throat, just offering some choices.

September 2014