Wake Up Call

By Sally

This has been an interesting morning. After talking with a friend my phone rang. I looked at the caller number and it said, “Private number,” so I answered the call.

A man was talking and I couldn’t understand what he was saying. He had a foreign accent that took over every word he was saying. This immediately put doubts in my mind. I kept asking him where was from.

“The US Treasury Department,” is what I finally understood.

“Okay,” I said, “so what’s your problem?”

He started with “You have been selected . . .” and that confirmed my doubt –- it was a scam, and I immediately hung up.

Now I can just picture the US Treasury Department sitting around throwing darts at a list of names to call. Sure!

Then a few minutes later another call came in – from Florida. Since I know no one in Florida, I declined the call. I then called the number back to see who it was, and it said, “Sorry, we cannot accept your call at this time.” So that ended that.

Well, lo and behold, a few minutes later, yes again, my phone rang. I answered and some lady asked for someone I didn’t know. This number wouldn’t be given any thought, but it’s called me several times before and when I tried to call back no one answered.

So, I hope all of you will be aware that the scammers are out going strong. Be careful! Hey, why not have fun with them? While on the phone, ask them a few real good questions and see how long they stay on the line with you.

March 2017

Leave a Reply

