Daily Archives: June 6, 2016

Old Age

By Jim

When I get out of bed in the morning, my joints creek and groan. I hurt all over. It takes a while to walk. And then if I sit down to put on my socks and shoes, it really hurts to get up. I checked with the doc, and people in the area, and they all say the same thing – Old Age. No way, I think.

The next day I go out and pick up the morning paper. In the headlines it says they are going to tear down Davidson Canyon Bridge. I watched them build that bridge. I used to work in Willcox and drive to Tucson on Friday and back to Willcox on Monday. I’d slow way down or pull off the road to watch them build the bridge. It intrigued me.

Now they are tearing it down! Why? As I read more and more, I found out that it was built in the 1960s. What? No Way!

September 2015Davidson Bridge