Five Days in August: Ladies Night(s) Out (or In)

By Leslie

On August 2nd, my husband took an all-too-brief vacation in Portland, Oregon. He visited and stayed with our daughter and her family. The weather there was perfect, 80⁰, sunny and clear. He spent time both at the famed Portland Japanese Garden, as well as at the Children’s Museum. A trip to the Oregon coast allowed leisurely strolls through the tide pools. Oh how I wish I could have gone!

But I had a fun time back in Tucson. Truly it was almost a prolonged Ladies (Day and) Night Out. A very dear friend stayed with me and we were joined by my next door neighbor. Good food, fun times reminiscing, and two nights at the movies. No we didn’t have popcorn, but we had so much else.

Times such as these remind us of the importance of friendships, of our interdependence, and of the joys that await us in our own back yards. Yes, I missed my husband. Yes, I would have loved to have been in Portland during its most beautiful season, especially with my kids and grandkids. But that was not to be. What was and is, however, makes me appreciate all that I have and all that has been bestowed upon me! That is gratitude.

August 2014

Leave a Reply

