February Is a Special Month

by Leslie

February is a special month. ‘Tis the month of my birth – and of some very special people: Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, Charles Dickens and Charles Darwin, to name but a few. We used to celebrate “my” birthday with a legal holiday, a day off from school or work – and to remember the “Father of our Country,” George Washington. No more; now Washington and Lincoln have to share “Presidents Day.” How many children – or even adults – know what presidents they are honoring on this holiday?

As for me, I still celebrate my birthday on my birth day . . . or do I? This year a dear friend came from out of town to spend several days, including my birthday with me. And my husband went on a wildflower hike on my birthday. So we decided to celebrate my birthday the day after my birthday, and celebrate we did, starting with some lovely gifts from my husband, followed by a surprise visit and gift from our “writing jefe,” capped by a delicious Chinese dinner and bounteous flowers.

So, February is special, made special by so many special people doing so many special things.

February 2014

Leave a Reply

