How Tucson Became Home

By Leslie

I was born and raised in N.Y.C.; the Bronx to be specific, and lived the first 19 years of my life there. My parents provided a home which was incredibly loving and on, so supportive of education. This was the era of upper mobility. My maternal grandmother, a Russian refugee, could neither read nor write English, although she spoke English quite well. Within two generations, her granddaughter – I, had graduated from Medical School.

After graduating from the University of Chicago Medical School, I interned at Cook County Hospital. This was the time of first-generation Afro-American northerners, who had emigrated from the South. Cook County was the place they sought care. Oh, the heartbreaking stories I could tell of patients and families who came to me to cure everything from neglected heart disease to cancer.

My studies and training subsequently took me to Boston, Bethesda, MD and St Louis. We arrived in Tucson on July 4, 1990.

Jobs brought us here and here we remain in our retirement, blessed by friends, although our children remain far, far away. Tucson became and is our home.

November 2014

Leave a Reply

