Christmas . . . In July

By Leslie

This past weekend I had to best Christmas present ever – a visit from my son and his son, my oldest grandchild. It was really an act of love to come during this torrid month, but come they did. We talked and talked, and played and played. Lucas, my grandson is very sweet – and on the day of his departure this was brought home to me. He won a four-handed game of Scrabble! Won!

The house is awfully quiet and empty now. No teenage boy devouring all in sight – or almost all (he does have definite likes and dislikes, but is on so easy to please). No squeals of delight as he descends in to the swimming pool. No smiles of victory in well-played games of Scrabble or Chinese checkers.

But, wait – Thanksgiving is almost just around the corner. And all five of my grandchildren will descend upon us. Just enough time to polish up on my Scrabble expertise, stock our larders – and be thankful for all the blessings I have received. Time no to repay some of my joy – and make a friendly phone call or two.

July 2014

Leave a Reply

