Notes from an Editor

By Leslie

I am an editor, and have been one for many, many years. H.G. Wells said, “No passion in the world is equal to the passion to alter someone else’s draft.” I am passionate about editing.

The publication I co-edit is entitled “AAP Grand Rounds.” It is published by the voice of the American pediatrician, the American Academy of Pediatrics. It is a practical journal meant to provide the latest information to the practicing pediatrician in a clear, concise format.  We have an eight member editorial board and over 50 physicians who regularly contribute articles in their areas of expertise (e.g., cardiology, infectious diseases, orthopedics, etc.). The articles are highly variable in quality. It is my job – and my passion – to hone the submissions so that both the English language, and the reader, may gain mutual respect and understanding.

I could not do this editing without them incredible assistance and patience of my life’s helpmate, my husband. He keeps me going, even when physical problems attempt to derail me; that is his passion – for which I am forever grateful.

October 2013

Leave a Reply

