Open Letter to Jim K.

by Leslie

Dear Jim,

This is a letter for all to see, hear and read. It is written to a very special and funny and sensitive man, who has befriended me and so many others.

I am sorry that I will be missing your “farewell party,” but then I am not very good at farewells. Moreover, this is not a farewell, not an end, but a new beginning. Knowing you, before the summer is out, you will have sown a new garden, and many new friendships. Oh yes, you will miss Tucson, your home for over 50 years, as well as your Tucson friends. But I know that you will come back for many a visit, gracing our Writing Group with your wit and gentle laughter. I also know that you and I will enrich the post office larders with our letters and cards. And, I may even be lucky enough to get a call once in a while (and vice versa!).

This IS a bittersweet time, but one full of promise. I know that you will be happy in your new home. And that just makes me happy, as it does all of us.

We wish you the best! No good-byes – but “hasta la vista” – see you soon!

April, 2013

One response to “Open Letter to Jim K.

  1. I can only second Leslie’s heartfelt comments and wish Jim much health happiness in his new home.
    — Alan

Leave a Reply

