Tic Toc

by Jim

Recently I was house-sitting for some friends. It’s not a huge house, but pretty good-sized. It has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. But I realized it had a lot of clocks.

It seems to me eight is enough – three clocks in the master bedroom, one in the son’s room, one in the living room, two in the kitchen, and one in the breakfast bar. And if I’m there, I wear a watch and the clock lights up on my cell phone.

So now we have ten. There is blue, green, white, red, white and blue. Some are round, some are square, and some oblong. A few have hands; most are digital. But all of them have this in common –

NONE OF THEM TELL THE CORRECT TIME!

July, 2012

One response to “Tic Toc

  1. Paula Morphew

    Jim: Speaking of clocks, my husband is a watch and clock collector. We have a two bedroom, two bath house. Small, in other words. We have 11 antique clocks (all of them chime, some on the hour and half-hour, others every 15 minutes) in the living room, two HUGE pendulum self-regulator pendulum clocks in the hall (from old railroad stations), two in the kitchen, four in one bedroom, five in the other bedroom. Then there are the normal contemporary clocks (four alarm clocks, two clocks on DVD players and such.) My husbands antique watches number in the dozens. When we first married (8 years ago, at the ripe age of 48 and 64) I had lived alone my entire adult life and had to adapt to living with another person. That was NOTHING compared to learning how to adapt to living with all these clocks and watches! When my husband goes out of town, my dear sister stays over night. I have to stop all the clocks in her bedroom and the hall or she doesn’t have a prayer of a chance of sleeping, with all the chimes, rings, bells, music, etc. I do hope the clock collection is complete now!
    Paula

Leave a Reply

