People

by Jim

Did you ever notice how people don’t like people? I recently got a photo from a friend of mine. It shows a huge park, with beautiful trees, green grass, and walkways. Next to a walkway, there is a very long park bench, at least 25 feet long. Six people are sitting on it, one at each end and four in the middle, not next to each other, but spaced out by at least two seats.

I went to the doctor’s office. In the waiting room, at least 15 chairs, everyone spaced out. From there I went to the lab. Every other chair had someone in it. One man was standing.

Theaters are like that too. Fifty chairs in a row and only a few people. The only place I can think of is in church, people will sit next to each other. Why?

Next time you go out, check it out. People just don’t like people!

May, 2012

One response to “People

  1. What a significant observation, Jim! I never noticed that people”spce” themselves away from other people – – except I have noticed it in bathroom stalls. There, if there is no one in the restroom when an individual comes in, she invariably chooses an end stall. The next individual who enters chooses the opposite end stall. But I haven’t noticed the same behavior elsewhere. I don’t know whether it is because people don’t like each other or they are simply shy or they have large “personal spaces” which make them uncomfortable if strangers are too close. Or perhaps it’s a safety issue – – they don’t feel safe when a stranger is too close. I don’t know. But what an interesting observation, Jim. I’ll have to watch for this “spacing” when I’m out and about.
    Paula

Leave a Reply

