To Lucy, My Sister

by Phyllis

First of all, I want you to know
Thank you for nurturing me, so I could grow.

We’ve cried tears, had years of strife.
You tenderly remind me that, “That’s Life.”

The good Lord carries us, as does He His sheep
Where ‘er the mountains get too steep.

You and I laugh through our sorrows,
And rainbows brighten our tomorrows.

And every cloud has a silver lining
With your blue eyes brightly shining.

I can still hear you softly say,
“Phyllis, Honey, this is how to pray!”

September, 2011

Leave a Reply

